top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLynn Ferdowsian

Charlotte's Update


Enjoying some sister sushi time!

Hey everyone, I am probably overdue for an update. Since January 16th I have had 2 major surgeries...1st the double mastectomy and lymph node dissection, followed by a full hysterectomy and ovary removal just a few weeks after the first surgery. It turns out my pathology report from the mastectomy showed I didn't just have ductal cancer but also lobular breast cancer (not very common). The "sorta" good news is lobular always moves to the other breast, so thank goodness I got a second opinion and pushed to have both taken. The report also showed my lymph nodes were actually still active with cancer- which is why we moved to the hysterectomy and ovary removal as quick as we did. It turns out that was a smart move as the pathology report came back and showed I was pre-cancerous for endometrial cancer (BRCA1 is one evil mutation)!

Now for some great news- my margins were all negative from the mastectomy and lymph node removal meaning they feel very confident they got it all and with my other reproductive parts gone my risk for cancer reappearing is very very low. So as far as I am concerned I am cancer free. 🙂My only current struggle is the side effects of the ovary removal and the hormone inhibitors they put me on. I have to really focus on feeling joyful and motivated...and sleeping is really a challenge. Donny says I just have to find my "new normal" and get out in the sun and exercise (he is right-this is what they say works best) On the plus side, I have very little appetite so I might finally shed those pounds I have been struggling with for years. 🙂My last step in my cancer treatment is radiation and that will start in the next few weeks and will run every day for 3 weeks. I also have a full cat scan on March 7th (at my request) just to double confirm I am cancer free.

I can't say it enough -- THANK YOU to everyone who has prayed for me and supported me through this journey. Without all the love and prayers from family and friends I can't imagine I would have had this much success.


~ Charlotte

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page